Bikfalva

www.bicfalau.ro

 

The village lies at the foot of the Bodzaforduló Mountains in a picturesque setting, in the foregrounds of the beech forests. We can find its name in the Pope’s Register of 1332. The population at the 2002 census was 379.

 

It’s school is on the DJ-103B main street, which was built by the Hungarian Government, one of the 400 schools built in the year of the millennium (1896). On its frontage one can still find the plaque “In the memory of Hungary’s thousand-year long existence.”

 

In Lisznyó we can see the medieval tower of the reformed fortified church monument, and its irregular, oval battlemented fortress from the 16th-17th century, once used for defense purposes. Today’s bell tower was a defendable donjon. With its narrow battlements it is one of its kinds in the county. Its original lanterns helmet of Barcaság style was changed in 1937 to pyramid helmet based on László Debreczeni’s plans. Its small, gothic type church was rebuilt in 1863. Its antique bell, which is frequently mentioned in professional literature, still works. It was made by the famous Neidel Johannes, caster of bells. Its value is only increased by the fact that there is not only Latin, but Hungarian writing on it as well. The ancient graveyard’s tombstones in front of the church were cleared of bushes in 2002.

 

Among the courthouses, which have an attractive exterior, there is the Simon house on Great Street, built in 1793, which is exceptionally attractive with its stone archway. The Jancsó house is in the same street. Another notable building is the house of Zsigmond Ödön on Church Street. The latter has asymmetrical pillared archway decorated with arched arcades. Other manor houses and mansions: Gergely Pall’s mansion house (1830) on Great Street, with salient gable walls and an arched porch with baroque elements, with stout stone gate posts. The Molnár manor house, on the dam, built in 1822. “It has an arched porch, with folksy dwarf columns built of stone”, therefore it is a unique version in Bikfalva. There are many more manor-houses: the Bőjthe-Cseke country house (1860), the Lajos Harkó owned manor-house, Vén-Ábrahám manor-house, the Zátyi house and the Gergely Páll house etc.

 

If someone is deeply interested in this historic village, they can visit the Csiga Castle (Snail Castle) in the forest above the village, or the legendary rock formation named Décse Rock.

 

Do to its tourism endowments, rural tourism is spreading. Pensions and guesthouses are opening frequently, part of which are modernized manor-houses (Öregdiófa) or newly built (Téglás pension, Mókus pension). The Bikkmakk Cultural Association has a display of its ethnographic collection in the former Village Hall, which can be visited by tourists.

 

Investment possibilities: handy craft, folk art, tourism, organizing hikes in the nearby mountains

 

Events: Bikfalva Village Festival: organized annually on the third weekend of May.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *